Truth

There is something so beautiful about being transparent. I don’t want to hide anything anymore. I have a lot of bullshit in me that I don’t want to rule me anymore. By speaking about it, I feel….relieved. This is a side of a spiritual life that I feel a lot of people don’t want to put out there to the world because they are suppose to be past this, to be able to transcend it. Lately, I have been able to be more honest with my friends about what is going on with me and where I am trying to go in my life.

Sometimes, I feel like I was suppose to be born perfect. I was born into a loving Sikh family with a pretty conservative lifestyle compared to many other people in the US. I feel like people expect me to be able to keep up with the lifestyle because I was born into it, I shouldn’t question it. Well, I did question it, and I got burned. Now I really understand why many Sikhs rise in the early hours of the morning to recite prayers, do yoga and sing devotional songs, why many Sikhs wear a turban and bana and don’t put themselves out there “for sale”.

I’m going through a healing process now. I didn’t follow the lifestyle for a little while, I was doing things very contrary to it, but that phase is over now. Now I’m forgiving myself for all that, and trying to just keep up!

Keeping up is a daily struggle. Moment to moment. But, man, it is much better than not trying.

It is inspiring to learn about great teachers who have come before me, who did amazing things, but were not perfect and made mistakes in their lives. Gandhi was very consumed with lust in his marriage, and he also experimented with eating meat for a year. The Buddha left his wife and child to pursue an ascetic life! Albert Einstein was a horrible father, hardly saw his kids and at one point married his cousin!

It just makes me think, I have made mistakes, but so did they, and look at what they were able to do with their lives! What an impact they still made! I do not doubt that great things are in store for me

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”
Albert Einstein

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”
Albert Einstein

“A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.”
Mohandas Gandhi

“All the religions of the world, while they may differ in other respects, unitedly proclaim that nothing lives in this world but Truth.”
Mohandas Gandhi

“Always aim at complete harmony of thought and word and deed. Always aim at purifying your thoughts and everything will be well.”
Mohandas Gandhi

“An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.”
Mohandas Gandhi

“However many holy words you read, however many you speak, what good will they do you if you do not act on upon them?”
Buddha

“It is better to conquer yourself than to win a thousand battles. Then the victory is yours. It cannot be taken from you, not by angels or by demons, heaven or hell.”
Buddha

What did you think?

